top of page

Congratulations to those shortlisted in the annual Highlands and Islands Media Awards. 


The complete list of finalists are as follows:

Gaelic Writer of the Year: Aonghas Pàdraig Caimbeul, West Highland Free Press; Donald Pollock, BBC


Photographer of the Year: Paul Campbell, Freelance, Inverness; Beth Taylor, Highland News and Media; Malcolm Younger, Freelance, Shetland


Business Writer of the Year: Mark Harcus, Orcadian; Peter Ranscombe, Freelance (contributing to Press and Journal), Simon Warburton, Press and Journal


Environment and Sustainability Writer of the Year: Ethan Flett, Orcadian, Mark Harcus, Orcadian, Donna MacAllister, Press and Journal


Sport Writer of the Year: Craig Christie, Highland News and Media, Elgin; Mark Harcus, Orcadian; Andy Skinner, Press and Journal


Young Reporter of the Year and Alex Main Trophy: Ethan Flett, Orcadian; Chloe Irvine, Press and Journal; Sean McAngus, Press and Journal


Reporter of the Year and Jim Love Memorial Trophy: Rita Campbell, Press and Journal, Stuart Findlay, Press and Journal; Mark Harcus, Orcadian, Iain MacInnes, BBC


Feature Writer of the Year: Mark Harcus, Orcadian, Andrew Henderson, Highland News and Media; Brian Wilson, Stornoway Gazette


Community Newspaper of the Year: Black Isle Chatterbox; Loch a Tuath News; West Word


Newspaper of the Year: Shetland Times, Strathspey and Badenoch Herald, West Highland Free Press


The award winners will be revealed at the Press Ball being held at the Kingsmills Hotel, Inverness, on Friday, 3 February 2023.


As with previous years, the standard was exceptionally high, and it meant we had some difficult decisions to make.


I would like to thank everyone for taking the time to enter and demonstrate again that there is a high quality of work being carried out in our very special area of Scotland.


Yours sincerely,



Gordon Fyfe

Media Awards Chairman
Mobile: 07880783707

bottom of page